Full length plays

Hugh Leonard wrote the following full-length original plays and adaptations. The links bring you to individual articles on each work.

  • The Italian Road (1954)
  • The Big Birthday (1956), filmed as ”Broth of a Boy” (1959)
  • A Leap in the Dark (1957)
  • Madigan’s Lock (1958)
  • A Walk on the Water (1960)
  • The Passion of Peter Ginty (1961), an adaptation of Peer Gynt
  • Stephen D (1962), an adaptation of A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man and Stephen Hero by James Joyce
  • Dublin One (1963), an adaptation of the Dubliners short stories of James Joyce
  • The Poker Session (1964)
  • The Family Way (1964), an adaptation of “Celimare, Le Bien-Aime” by Eugene Labiche (revived in 1976 as Some of My Best Friends Are Husbands)
  • The Saints Go Cycling In, an adaptation of The Dalkey Archive by Flann O’Brien, (1965)
  • Mick and Mick (1966)
  • The Au Pair Man (1968)
  • The Barracks (1969), an adaptation of the novel by John McGahern
  • The Patrick Pearse Motel (1971)
  • Da (1973)
  • Summer (1974)
  • Time Was (1976)
  • Liam Liar (1976), an adaptation of the play Billy Liar by Keith Waterhouse and Willis Hall
  • A Life (1979)
  • Kill(1982)
  • The Mask of Moriarty (1985)
  • Moving (1992)
  • Great Expectations (1995), an adaptation of the novel by Charles Dickens
  • A Tale of Two Cities (1996), an adaptation of the novel by Charles Dickens
  • Love in the Title (1999)
  • Magicality

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: